13 Comments
Apr 5, 2023Liked by Tiffany Philippou

Money-making is the priority I'm focusing on, after what felt like a very long period of grief and being gentle with myself.

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2023Liked by Tiffany Philippou

April 7th marks 5 years since I lost my partner to suicide, so this season is always hard for me, and 5 years feels like a major milestone for some reason. So in this moment I am focusing on being gentle with myself, however, I am also in grad school for my PhD and I am having a hard time focusing on getting my dissertation completed. My goal is to put focus into productivity and writing as my priority for the next several months, while being mindful of the grief and other out-of-my-control aspects of my life (I am also caregiving for my dad). Thank you as always for your writing, I enjoy it so much. xo

Expand full comment

I'd never heard about priority seasons but I love it. I'm in my second trimester with my third child so I'd like to be in money-making mode (to prepare to pay myself something of a maternity leave). However, a number of factors are currently conspiring against me... work seems less plentiful and I am more tired than expected. I'm trying to embrace it and using the time I have productively by resting and connecting more with my own creative projects. Then hopefully I'll moving into hard pitching and money mode in time for Summer. x

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2023Liked by Tiffany Philippou

I'm in a money-making phase right now. It's the result of a low period last year and I'm now closing out this phase in preparation for one of creativity. I love the priority season concept, I'm so grateful for you teaching me about it.

Expand full comment

Loved this one! 💕 My priority season is money making right now, after I did a couple of low-paid projects in a row. But after six months of Swedish winter it's also traveling and enjoy spring/prep summer while moving flats season, so I'll see I can combine or get lost between the two.

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2023Liked by Tiffany Philippou

I’ve found the priority seasons concept really helpful - thank you tiff! I’m currently going through a bad sleep stage with my 5 month old and a nightly bedtime of 8 or 9pm is the only way I can get through this without breaking down from exhaustion. But it does mean that my social life - particularly evening activities like dinners, restaurants, parties, clubs - needs to take a back seat, and with two young kids that will probably be the case for a while. The priority seasons framework reminds me that there will be time to prioritise my wider social and cultural life in the future, whereas now is the time to focus on my family and close friendships (that can be nurtured in the daytimes!)

Expand full comment